Sunday, 28 July 2013

Ashley Cox of CCLuton victorious at the CCHackney Road Race

The winner Ashley Cox prepares to salute the racegoers

The main bunch heading towards the finish area on Lap 1.

 Cycling Club Hackney’s annual road race was run today on the Matching circuit in Essex. The National B race attracted a lot of interest from Elite 1, 2 and 3 riders eager to soak up some late summer points. The race set off at a brisk pace with lap 1 of the seven laps being completed in 20 minutes with the following laps at around 22-23 minutes this meant for an average speed of around 41km/hr for the 110km race. A break formed in the first lap comprising around 13 riders and working hard they took this up around a minute and half when the first prime was won at the end of lap 2 by Oliver Rossi, one of a contingent of Twenty3c riders in the break. The break also had a strong trio of riders from Team Corley in it, and they continued to hold the main field off. At one point a group broke out from the main field and seemed to be gaining on the lead riders, but by the time of the 2nd prime, won by Simas Ragusaks, it looked like the leaders would be contesting the top prizes amongst themselves.
It was another team that turned up in numbers though that took top spot as Ashley Cox of CCLuton attacked the leading bunch on the twisty Matching Tye sector of the course and led them up the hills to the finish area of Hatfield Heath where he won by 15  seconds from the sprint led by Michel Smith of Team Corley followed by Simon Alexander of Twenty3C.

Here are the full results for the CCHackney Road Race 2013

Ashley Cox CC Luton Elite 1
Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles 1st 2
Simon Alexander 2nd 3
Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st 4
Ben Chapman Team Corley Cycles 2nd 5
Oliver Rossi 1st 6
Mike Wragg Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT 1st 7
Simas Ragukas private 2nd 8
Roger Maidment East London Vélo 1st 9
Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles Elite 10
Dean Shannon Elite 11
Luke Ryan Elite 12
Adam French Rapha Condor Cycling Club 1st 13
Lloyd Chapman Glendene CC 1st 14
Mike Jackson CC Luton 1st 15
Jack Steven East London Vélo 2nd 16
Rolandas Razgauskis La Fuga - Sigma Sport 2nd 17
Lee Desborough St Ives CC 2nd 18
Dan Young Glendene CC 2nd 19
Jonathan Shuster Team Corley Cycles 1st 20
Owen Lake Elite 21
Stephen Nunn Finchley Racing Team 2nd 22
Andy Lyons 1st 23
Christopher Dredge Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st 24
Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st 25
James Bevan VC Meudon 2nd 26
Scott Holmes Hillingdon Cycling Club 2nd 27
Amritpal Virdi Norwood Paragon CC 3rd 28
Gonzalo Rodriguez East London Vélo 2nd 29
Gray Turnock Finsbury Park CC 2nd 30
Joshua Green Glendene CC 2nd 31
Kendal Noctor The 5th Floor Cycle Club 3rd 32
James Browne VC Norwich 2nd 33
Adam Norris 1st 34
Frank Rawlins North Road CC 2nd 35
Joshua Maynard Welwyn Whls CC 2nd 36
Patrick Martin WyndyMilla 2nd 37
Gerard Miley St Ives CC 3rd 38
Jack Waller Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st 39
Matthew Menlove Maldon & District CC 2nd 40
Matthew Carter Velo Schils - Interbike RT 2nd 41
Benjamin Brown Cycling Club Hackney 2nd 42
Glyndwr Thomas VC Norwich 2nd 43
Gavin Moore Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team 2nd 44
Mike Smith Colchester Rovers CC 2nd 45
Stephen Adams Elite 46

More photos/videos and reports to follow. Big thank you to all involved today well done.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive